Archive: From the New World

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal


  • Alban Gerhardt, cello
  • Krzysztof Urbanski, conductor


Wojciech Kilar
«Orava» for String Orchestra
- interval -

Orchestra musicians love this work. Not to mention the audience! When Antonín Dvořák’s ninth symphony is performed, reporting «From the New World», everybody involved can look forward to big emotions and to listening again to one of the most impressive and moving symphonic declarations of love to one’s home country. The dimensions of New York, the spirituals and the dances of the indigenous peoples served as inspirations for the composer from Bohemia as did the vastness of the Midwest and literary sources. Following his successful debut with the orchestra in the 14-15 season, the young Polish conductor Krzysztof Urbanski will take the Tonkunstler’s stand once more. Alban Gerhardt will play the solo part in Bohuslav Martinus’ first cello concerto. A student of Boris Pergamenschikow, Gerhardt has won many awards on account of his outstanding musicality, emotionality and stage presence.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Bohuslav Martinu

Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra No. 1


  • Allegro poco moderato

  • Andante moderato

  • Allegro


27 Min.


Antonín Dvorák

Symphony No. 9 in e minor op. 95 «From the New World»


  • Adagio - Allegro molto

  • Largo

  • Scherzo. Molto vivace

  • Allegro con fuoco


40 Min.