Archive: Continu, Sasha Waltz

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal


  • Sasha Waltz Guests, Dance company
  • Pietari Inkinen, Conductor


Yannis Xenakis
«Rebonds B» for Percussion solo
Yannis Xenakis
«Concret PH»
Edgard Varèse
«Arcana» for large Orchestra
Edgard Varèse
«Hyperprism» for nine Wind Instruments and Percussion
Edgard Varèse
«Ionisation» for 13 Percussionists
- interval -
Claude Vivier
«Zipangu» für 13 Streicher
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Quartet for Oboe, Violin, Viola and Violoncello in F major KV 370, 2nd mvt (Adagio)

Extremely dynamic, powerful and intensely emotional the Festspielhaus St. Pölten opens its 15-16 season with ‘Continu’, one of the German choreographer and opera director Sasha Waltz’s most impressive works so far. At the Festspielhaus the piece, originally created in 2010, can be seen for the first time with a full live orchestra. Inspired by the spaces and previous projects at Neues Museum Berlin and MAXXI in Rome, ‘Continu’ is based on the continuity provided by constant onward development. While
powerful orchestral music inspired by Edgard Varèse’s ‘Arcana’ (played by the Tonkunstler Orchestra conducted by Pietari Inkinen) is contrasted with percussion and moments of total silence, contrasting pairs are also formed in the dance through ominous group dynamics and moments of static movement.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List