Archive: Christmas concert

Grafenegg Auditorium Auditorium


  • Anna Lucia Richter, soprano
  • Alessandro De Marchi, conductor


Johann Sebastian Bach
Suite (Overture) for Orchestra No. 1 in C major BWV 1066
- interval -
Johann Sebastian Bach
«Praise God! The year now draws to a close!» Aria from the Cantata «Praise God! The year now draws to a close!» BWV 28
Johann Sebastian Bach
«Prepare the paths, prepare the road!» Aria from the Cantata «Prepare the paths, prepare the road!» BWV 132

Music – and a café mélange on the side? Typical coffee-house culture in Leipzig in the eighteenth century! The «Zimmermannische Caffe-Haus» in the Katharinenstraße hosted the local collegium musicum at least weekly, and patrons could feast on music as well as food and drink. This made for an extremely lively establishment. Johann Sebastian Bach, who took over the ensemble some years later, composed his festive orchestral suites for this purpose. Conducted by the Swiss Baroque specialist Diego Fasolis, who has for many years been one of the most important figures in this field, the Tonkunstler will perform the first and third suites (the latter especially popular because of its dreamy «Air»). An atmosphere of refinement will be created in the traditional Grafenegg Christmas concerts by a selection of Bach’s vocal works, for example the cantata «Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen» («Shout for joy to God in all lands»). This features not only a brilliant solo trumpet part but also the jubilant voice of virtuoso soprano Anna Lucia Richter.

Why not use your concert ticket for a free entrance to Grafenegg's christmas fair on the same evening? We invite you to regional culinarics, tasty delicacies and handcrafted art!

We are happy to announce that the Artistic Director of the Festwochen der Alten Musik in Innsbruck, Alessandro De Marchi, will conduct this concert instead of Diego Fasolis.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Johann Sebastian Bach

«Praise ye God thruout creation» Cantata BWV 51


  • Arie: Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen

  • Rezitativ: Wir beten zu dem Tempel an

  • Arie: Höchster, mache deine Güte

  • Choral: Sei Lob und Preis mit Ehren


20 Min.


ca. 1730
Johann Sebastian Bach

Suite (Overture) for Orchestra No. 3 in D major BWV 1068


  • Ouvertüre

  • Air

  • Gavotte I

  • Gavotte II

  • Bourrée

  • Gigue


24 Min.


vor 1725