Archive: Beethoven & Prokofiev

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal


  • Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Classical sound-worlds to open the season! Sergey Prokofiev was only 26 when he completed his «Symphonie classique» – avowedly in the style of Joseph Haydn – while at the same time instrumentalising his First Violin Concerto in D major. In this concert his countryman Alexander Sitkovetsky performs the concerto’s solo part. The Tonkunstler Orchestra and its Music Director Yutaka Sado then devote themselves to this year’s great anniversary: Ludwig van Beethoven, who also wrote a symphony in C major that in its structure and instrumentation clearly nods towards Haydn’s prototype.

The new rules on Covid-19 prevention have made some changes necessary to our concert programmes. The performances originally intended for this evening – Carl Orff’s scenic cantata «Carmina Burana» – will be rescheduled to a future date.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Sergej Prokofjew

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 in D major op. 19


  • Andantino

  • Scherzo. Vivacissimo

  • Finale. Moderato


23 Min.


Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 1 in C major op. 21


  • Adagio molto - Allegro con brio

  • Andante cantabile con moto

  • Menuetto. Allegro molto e vivace

  • Finale. Adagio - Allegro molto e vivace


29 Min.