Archive: Dvorák & Brahms

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal


  • Simon Trpceski, piano
  • Lionel Bringuier, conductor


Johannes Brahms’ First Piano Concerto was actually a product of chance: shortly after the first suicide attempt by his friend and patron Robert Schumann, he attempted a sonata for two pianos – albeit without success. He then decided to rewrite this as a piano concerto. Part of what Brahms expressed in it was his closeness to Schumann’s wife Clara. He wrote to her: «I’m also painting a delicate portrait of you, which will then become the Adagio.» The Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski interprets the concerto together with the Tonkunstler Orchestra under the baton of the young French star conductor Lionel Bringuier, who crowns his debut with the Tonkunstler with the poetic and pastoral Fifth Symphony in F major by Antonín Dvořák.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Johannes Brahms

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in d minor op. 15


  • Maestoso

  • Adagio

  • Rondo. Allegro non troppo


42 Min.


Antonín Dvorák

Symphony No. 5 in F major op. 76


  • Allegro, ma non troppo

  • Andante con moto -

  • Andante con moto, quasi l'istesso tempo - Allegro scherzando

  • Finale. Allegro molto


35 Min.