Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Archive: Waltraud Meier and Lubman with the «Rückert-Lieder»

Grafenegg Wolkenturm


  • Waltraud Meier, mezzosoprano
  • Brad Lubman, conductor


Brad Lubman
«Reflections» for Orchestra
- interval -

In pursuit of the perfect sound: Johannes Brahms worked on his First Symphony for over 14 years. The end result was bold music shaped by sym- phonic beauty. This year’s Composer in Residence,  Brad Lubman, also knows how great the struggle with music can be and presents the world premiere of his work «Reflections». Gustav Mahler too strove for the perfect sound in each of his works– his «Rückert Lieder» form the heart of this concert and are performed by singing legend Waltraud Meier.

Gustav Mahler

Five song settings of poems by Friedrich Rückert


  • Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder

  • Liebst du um Schönheit

  • Um Mitternacht

  • Ich atmet' einen linden Duft

  • Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen


19 Min.
Johannes Brahms

Symphony No. 1 in c minor op. 68


  • Un poco sostenuto - Allegro - Meno Allegro

  • Andante sostenuto

  • Un poco Allegretto e grazioso

  • Adagio - Più Andante - Allegro non troppo, ma con brio - Più Allegro


42 Min.