The Firebird

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal

Details and Tickets

  1. St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal

    Buy Tickets


  • Augustin Hadelich, violin
  • Krzysztof Urbanski, conductor


After the premiere of «L’Oiseau de Feu» in 1910, the Paris public was beside itself with enthusiasm. Igor Stravinsky’s ballet music «The Firebird», with its lively rhythms and vibrant orchestral colours, made the composer famous overnight and was soon considered an outstanding example of its genre. The Polish conductor Krzysztof Urbański has long been popular with the Tonkunstler and their audiences. And the violin virtuoso Augustin Hadelich also returns to the orchestra – as soloist in Jean Sibelius’s popular Violin Concerto, one of the finest works of its kind.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Michail Glinka

Overture to the Opera «Ruslan and Ludmilla»


  • Presto

  • Presto


5 Min.


Jean Sibelius

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in d minor op. 47


  • Allegro moderato

  • Adagio di molto

  • Allegro ma non tanto


31 Min.
Igor Strawinski

Suite from the Ballet «The Firebird» (1945)


  • Introduktion. Molto moderato -

  • Vorspiel und Tanz des Feuervogels -

  • Variationen (Feuervogel) -

  • Pantomime I. L'istesso tempo - Più mosso -

  • Pas de deux (Feuervogel und Ivan Zarewitsch). Adagio - Allegretto - Adagio

  • Pantomime II. Vivo - Moderato -

  • Scherzo. Tanz der Prinzessinnen. Allegretto -

  • Pantomime III. Lento -

  • Rondo (Khorovod). Moderato - Più mosso - Moderato - Poco più mosso - Lento - Lento

  • Höllentanz des Kaschtschei. Vivo - Andante -

  • Wiegenlied (Feuervogel). Andante -

  • Finale (Hymne). Lento maestoso - Allegro non troppo - Maestoso - Molto pesante


28 Min.