Skip to content. | Skip to navigation



Wien Musikverein | Großer Saal

  1. Wien Musikverein | Großer Saal
    Soon available

    Soon available

    Can be booked as part of a subscription series. Ticket sales for holders of the Pluspunkt Card start on 1 August 18, general ticketing starts on 29 August 2018.


  • Nicholas Angelich, piano
  • Jun Märkl, conductor


Emmanuel Chabrier
«Bourrée fantasque» für Orchester (Completion of Chabriers orchestration: Robin Holloway)
- interval -

A Saint Petersburg fair provides the setting for the violent yet beautiful story of the ugly puppet «Petrushka». With this bizarre dance epic, set in the world of circus artistes, Igor Stravinsky and Alexander Benois created the foundations for a new ballet aesthetic. The first work that Stravinsky composed away from his Russian homeland, it was premiered in 1911 in Paris. Emmanuel Chabrier’s dashing and charming «Bourrée fantasque» and the exotic sound-world of Camille Saint-Saëns’ Fifth Piano Concerto, his «Egyptian», were also instant hits with the French public.

Camille Saint-Saëns

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 5 in F major op. 103 «The Egyptian»


  • Allegro animato

  • Andante

  • Molto allegro


28 Min.


Igor Strawinski

Suite from the Ballet «Petrushka» (1947)


  • Volksfest in der Fastnachtswoche

  • Bei Petruschka

  • Bei dem Mohren

  • Karneval abends und Petruschkas Tod


32 Min.