Skip to content. | Skip to navigation



Wien Musikverein | Großer Saal

  1. Wien Musikverein | Großer Saal
    Soon available

    Soon available

    Can be booked as part of a subscription series. Ticket sales for holders of the Pluspunkt Card start on 1 August 18, general ticketing starts on 29 August 2018.


  • Hiromi Kikuchi, violin
  • Ken Hakii, viola
  • Michael Schønwandt, conductor


György Kurtág
« ...concertante...» for Violin, Viola and Orchestra op. 42
- interval -
Antonín Dvořák

This exclusive Tonkunstler subscription season ends in the same spirit of affinity for nature as it began. Michael Schønwandt, a long-term guest conductor of the orchestra, conducted the world premiere of György Kurtág’s «… concertante …» in Copenhagen in 2003. The single-movement work is rich in changes of mood, tempo and structure and was awarded the Grawemeyer Prize of the University of Louisville, amounting to a hefty 200,000 US dollars. This performance with Hiromi Kikuchi and Ken Hakii is framed by musical declarations of love to nature by Béla Bartók and Antonín Dvořák.

Béla Bartók

«The Miraculous Mandarin» Concert Suite op. 19


  • Allegro - Moderato - Sostenuto - Maestoso - Allegro - Sempro vivo


20 Min.


Antonín Dvořák

«Nature - Life - Love»


  • «V prírode» | «In der Natur» Konzertouvertüre F-Dur op. 91

  • «Karneval» Konzertouvertüre A-Dur op. 92

  • «Othello» Konzertouvertüre fis-Moll op. 93


36 Min.