Archive: Beethoven & Nielsen

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal


  • Augustin Hadelich, violin
  • John Storgårds, conductor


Outi Tarkiainen
«Midnight Sun Variations» for Orchestra
- interval -

Ludwig van Beethoven’s only violin concerto is the great classical touchstone for every violinist. Augustin Hadelich, born in 1984, has an excellent podium partner by his side and one with an innate understanding of the task at hand – John Storgårds, himself a violinist as well as a conductor. Storgårds brings a work by the composer Outi Tarkiainen* with him from his Finnish homeland. Music about the midnight sun, the colours of the sky and the birth of her son. This is fittingly complemented with the enigmatic Fifth Symphony by Danish composer Carl Nielsen, in which conflicting forces of inertia and change are compellingly depicted in sound.

*Austrian premiere on 15 December 2023 at Vienna Musikverein

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major op. 61


  • Allegro ma non troppo

  • Larghetto -

  • Rondo


42 Min.


Carl Nielsen

Symphony No. 5 op. 50


  • Tempo giusto - Adagio

  • Allegro - Presto - Andante poco tranquillo


38 Min.