Archive: Grieg & Sibelius

Wiener Neustadt Kasematten Kasematten


  • Joachim Murnig
  • Martijn Dendievel, conductor


Anders Koppel
Concerto No. 1 for Marimba and Orchestra
- interval -

Tonkunstler percussionist Joachim Murnig is the soloist in the first Marimba Concerto by the Danish composer Anders Koppel, a founding member of rock group «The Savage Rose». The Belgian Martijn Dendievel, born in 1995 and winner of the 2021 German Conductors’ Award, conducts this concert, which is clearly going to have some musical surprises in store. Just like Sibelius’s First Symphony: based closely on a Tchaikovskian template and yet demonstrating a quite individual profile. The evening starts with Edvard Grieg’s familiar but unfailingly haunting theatrical music for «Peer Gynt».

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Edvard Grieg

Peer Gynt Suite No. 1 op. 46


  • Morgenstimmung, Allegretto pastorale

  • Ases Tod, Andante doloroso

  • Anitras Tanz, Tempo di Mazurka

  • In der Halle des Bergkönigs


15 Min.
Jean Sibelius

Symphony No. 1 in E minor op. 39


  • Andante ma non troppo - Allegro energico

  • Andante ma non troppo lento

  • Scherzo. Allegro

  • Finale. Quasi una fantasia


40 Min.