Mahler 1

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal

Details and Tickets

  1. St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal

    Buy Tickets


  • Kyohei Sorita, piano
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Ecstatic expressiveness, a driving onward force and rhapsodic debaucheries: Sergey Prokofiev’s Third Piano Concerto, presented by the composer in 1921, brings the young Japanese pianist Kyohei Sorita together with the Tonkunstler Orchestra and its Music Director for the second time this season. But the work could hardly have existed in the first place without the revolutionary ideas of Gustav Mahler, whose First Symphony to this day has lost none of its ability to fascinate. Yutaka Sado combines the four-movement symphony with the lyrical Blumine movement, which the composer later removed.

The new rules on Covid-19 prevention have made some changes necessary to our concert programmes. The originally programmed performances with the Japanese pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii will be rescheduled to a future date.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Sergej Prokofjew

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in C major op. 26


  • Andante - Allegro

  • Tema con variazioni. Andantino

  • Allegro ma non troppo


27 Min.


Gustav Mahler

Symphonie No. 1 in D major including «Blumine»


  • Langsam. Schleppend - Immer sehr gemächlich

  • «Blumine» Andante allegretto

  • Kräftig bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell

  • Feierlich und gemessen, ohne zu schleppen

  • Stürmisch bewegt


60 Min.