Schumann & Bruckner

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal

  1. Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal
    with subscription

    with subscription

    Can be booked as part of a subscription series. Ticket sales for holders of the Pluspunkt Card start on 18 August 2021, general ticketing starts on 1 September 2021.


  • Isabelle Faust, violin
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


The story of Robert Schumann’s Violin Concerto could be the plot of a pulp novel. It remained unpublished until 1933, when two women claimed that their late uncle, the violinist Joseph Joachim, and the composer himself had asked them from the next world to publish the concerto. Previously kept under lock and key, the score finally came to light. Isabelle Faust, one of the most sensitive and revered violin soloists today, has been championing this work tirelessly for many years. Its main theme, a commentator once wrote, «sounds like the opening of an unwritten symphony by Anton Bruckner», drawing a parallel to that composer’s glorious Seventh, which Yutaka Sado places on a scale between grief and triumph.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Robert Schumann

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in d minor WoO 1


  • In kräftigem, nicht zu schnellem Tempo

  • Langsam -

  • Lebhaft, doch nicht schnell


30 Min.


Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 7 in E major


  • Allegro moderato

  • Adagio. Sehr feierlich und sehr langsam

  • Scherzo. Sehr schnell - Trio. Etwas langsamer

  • Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht schnell


65 Min.