Archive: Bernstein & Friends

Grafenegg Auditorium Auditorium


  • Wayne Marshall, piano
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


George Gershwin
Symphonic Picture from the Opera «Porgy and Bess» (Arr.: Robert Russell Bennett)
George Gershwin
«Rhapsody in Blue» for Piano and Orchestra
- interval -
George Gershwin
«An American in Paris»

A deep trill from which the solo clarinet soars in a sensual glissando: this is the electrifying opening of George Gershwin’s «Rhapsody in Blue» – and the thrilling richness of jazz enters the concert hall. George Gershwin was one of 20th-century American music’s most significant father figures and an important role model for Leonard Bernstein. When Gershwin died in 1937, a distraught 19-year old Bernstein spontaneously played one of his preludes in a holiday camp, and later often performed the solo piano part in «Rhapsody». In this «American» Tonkunstler concert directed by Yutaka Sado, which also features the «Symphonic Picture» from Gershwin’s opera landmark «Porgy and Bess» and his lively escape to the City of Light, «An American in Paris», this part will be played by multi-talented British musician Wayne Marshall. The finale, however, will be the Symphonic Dances from that unique work with which Bernstein wrote himself simultaneously into the histories of Broadway, cinema and modern opera: «West Side Story».

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Leonard Bernstein

Symphonic Dances from the Musical «West Side Story»


  • Prologue

  • «Somewhere»

  • Scherzo

  • Mambo

  • Cha-Cha

  • Meeting Scene

  • «Cool», Fugue

  • Rumble

  • Finale


22 Min.