Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Archive: Dvořák 8

Wien Musikverein | Großer Saal



Leonard Bernstein introduced himself as a soloist and conductor to the Viennese public as early as 1948 with Maurice Ravel’s jazzy, languid Piano Concerto in G Major; later, he went in search of Haydn’s sharp wit in that composer’s symphonies, and in Antonín Dvořák’s music he loved the melodious sweetness and rhythmic élan, both of which are on display in the Eighth Symphony in particularly opulent style. Yutaka Sado conducts a colourful programme in which the festively jubilant eruptions in all three works can be considered an act of reverence for Bernstein’s musicianship and pesonality. But the sentimental side won’t be neglected – in the dreamy slow movement of the Ravel concerto, for example, with its melancholy, floating melodicism unfurled by the young blind pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii. Or in the Adagio of Haydn’s 102nd Symphony, which is believed to have been written as a farewell gift to a girlfriend acquired in London. And to the full in the voluptuous sentimentality of Dvořák’s Eighth, in which light and dark, melancholy and carnival atmosphere interplay in a captivating way.

Yutaka Sado


Born in Kyoto, Yutaka Sado is considered among the most eminent Japanese conductors of our time. With the start of the 15-16 season, he assumes the position of Music Director of the Tonkünstler Orchestra Niederösterreich. Frequent collaborations with world-renowned orchestras include the Berlin Philharmonic, the DSO Berlin, the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, the Bavarian State Orchestra, the Bavarian, North German, South-West German and West German Radio Symphony Orchestras, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Dresden and Hamburg Philharmonic, the Bamberg Symphony, the Frankfurt Museum Orchestra, the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne, the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the Orchestre de la Suisse-Romande, the London Symphony and London Philharmonic Orchestras, the BBC Philharmonic, the Orchestre de Paris, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the Orchestre National de Lyon, the Orchestra di Santa Cecilia Roma, the RAI National Symphony Orchestra, the Giuseppe Verdi Symphony Orchestra of Milan, the Orchestra of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and the Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra.

A long-time assistant to Leonard Bernstein and Seiji Ozawa, he has won some of the most distinguished conducting awards worldwide, including the Premier Grand Prix of the 39th International Conducting Competition in Besançon and the Grand Prix of the first Leonard Bernstein Jerusalem International Conducting Competition. His close ties with his mentor led to his appointment as «conductor in residence» at the Pacific Music Festival in Sapporo, which was founded by Bernstein. Sado also had the privilege of taking part in the Leonard Bernstein Memorial Concert in the Cathedral of St John the Divine in New York. Yutaka Sado has been Artistic Director of the Hyogo Performing Arts Centre (PAC) and Principal Conductor of the PAC Orchestra since 2005. The PAC’s three concert halls now attract over 70.000 visitors a year, making it one of the most notable concert venues in Japan. Sado is very well known in Japan, not least due to his weekly TV show in which the conductor takes on the role of presenter to give Japanese lovers of music an understanding of the world of classical music. Yutaka Sado’s career outside of Japan started in France, where he was appointed Principal Conductor of the Orchestre des Concerts Lamoureux in Paris in 1993. The charismatic orchestra director has also been among the most popular guest conductors with the Orchestre de Paris for many years, and he is probably the only conductor ever to conduct all four of the major Parisian orchestras in one season.  He gave his Italian opera debut in Turin with «Peter Grimes» by Britten in a production by Willy Decker in 2010. Since then, he has been working for the Teatro Regio on a regular basis.  CD productions by Yutaka Sado and the DSO Berlin include recordings for AVEX (Tchaikovsky’s 5th Symphony and Rachmaninov’s 2nd Piano Concerto featuring Japanese pianist Nobuyuki Tsuji). He has recorded works by Ibert (Naxos), Ravel, Chabrier (Erato/Warner) and Satie (Erato) with the Orchestre des Concerts Lamoureux. With the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France he has recorded three CDs featuring French repertoire (Dukas, Bizet, Offenbach), works by Leonard Bernstein (Chichester Psalms and Symphony No. 3 «Kaddish» with Karita Mattila and Yehudi Menuhin as narrator) and works by Berlioz, Wagner and Liszt respectively. Moreover, he recorded a CD of opera arias (Erato/Warner) with Karita Mattila and the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

Correct as of


Joseph Haydn

Symphony in B-flat major Hob. I:102


  • Largo-Vivace

  • Adagio

  • Menuet:Allegro

  • Finale:Presto


26 Min.
Maurice Ravel

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in G major


  • Allegramente

  • Adagio assai

  • Presto


20 Min.


Antonín Dvořák

Symphony No. 8 in G major op. 88


  • Allegro con brio

  • Adagio

  • Allegretto grazioso

  • Allegro ma non troppo


36 Min.