Archive: Bruckner 7

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal


  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Bruckner’s Seventh marks the beginning of his mature symphonic phase. Essentially unique, this lyrical work might culminate in an energy-charged, radiant E major, but it holds as its centre a great C-sharp minor Adagio. There, a moving funereal music leads after many run-ups to a grandiose climax that quickly transforms into a poignant yet lofty obituary to Richard Wagner. Bruckner venerated this master, who had only recently died. With his Seventh, the grief-tested Bruckner achieved his international breakthrough. It remains one of his most popular symphonies to this day: a masterpiece – calling for all of Yutaka Sado’s mastery.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 7 in E major


  • Allegro moderato

  • Adagio. Sehr feierlich und sehr langsam

  • Scherzo. Sehr schnell - Trio. Etwas langsamer

  • Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht schnell


65 Min.