Grafenegg Auditorium Auditorium

  1. Grafenegg Auditorium Auditorium
    with subscription

    with subscription

    Can be booked as part of a subscription series. Ticket sales start on 21 August 2024.


  • Patrick Hofer, trumpet
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Georg Friedrich Haas
«I don't know how to cry»
Alexander Arutiunian
Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra
- interval -

Napoleon has just caused another sensation on the cinema screen, but long ago Ludwig van Beethoven already found himself first fascinated then repelled by him. Beethoven’s «Eroica», «Heroic Symphony», boldly burst through the dimensions of the genre. The work refers to the myth of Prometheus, who brought humankind the gift of fire – an element as ambivalent as Napoleon. So, there are blazing passions in this opening to the season under Yutaka Sado, including in Alexander Arutiunian’s Trumpet Concerto with the brilliant Tonkunstler Orchestra solo trumpet Patrick Hofer, and in a new work composed for a commission from patrons including the Tonkunstler Orchestra by Georg Friedrich Haas*, whose unique, scintillating music causes a furore worldwide.

*Work commissioned by the Staatskapelle Dresden, Milano Musica – Associazione per la musica contemporanea and the Tonkunstler Orchestra

Austrian premiere

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major op. 55 «Eroica»


  • Allegro con brio

  • Marcia funebre. Adagio assai

  • Scherzo. Allegro vivace - Trio

  • Finale. Allegro molto


50 Min.