Mozart & Mahler

Grafenegg Auditorium Auditorium

  1. Grafenegg Auditorium Auditorium
    with subscription

    with subscription

    Can be booked as part of a subscription series. Ticket sales start on 21 August 2024.


  • Kyohei Sorita, piano
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart , Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
- interval -

At the start, the solo trumpet belts out its funeral march fanfare – and at the end a folk festival goes wild. In five movements, Gustav Mahler’s Fifth Symphony contains a whole world of emotions: after the funeral cortege, an explosive lamento and a pandemonium in the form of a scherzo, it’s not until the arrival of the «Adagietto», that delicate, wordlessly sung declaration of love, that the longed-for turnaround arrives. As a counterweight, Yutaka Sado chooses Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s graceful Piano Concerto K. 488, a work of chamber-music-like simplicity. This gives Japanese pianist Kyohei Sorita a chance to show an intimate side of himself after his success with Rachmaninov.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A major KV 488


  • Allegro

  • Adagio

  • Allegro assai


26 Min.
Gustav Mahler

Symphony No. 5 in c-sharp minor


  • I. Abteilung. Trauermarsch. In gemessenem Schritt. Streng. Wie ein Kondukt. Stürmisch bewegt, mit größter Vehemenz

  • II. Abteilung. Scherzo. Kräftig, nicht zu schnell

  • III. Abteilung. Adagietto. Sehr langsam. Rondo-Finale. Allegro


72 Min.