Grafenegg Auditorium Auditorium

  1. Premiere Grafenegg Auditorium Auditorium
    with subscription

    with subscription

    Can be booked as part of a subscription series. Ticket sales start on 16 September 2020.


  • Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello
  • Long Yu, conductor


Qigang Chen
«Instant d'un opéra de Pékin»
- interval -

Qigang Chen, a composer with Chinese roots who lives in France, combines the traditional tone colours of his homeland with Western European orchestral language. With the symphonic overture «Instant d’un opéra de Pékin», guest conductor Long Yu presents his homeland. For his debut with the Tonkunstler Orchestra, he has also chosen Camille Saint-Saëns’ Second Cello Concerto, which demands a dauntless soloist such as Jean-Guihen Queyras. The musicians – and especially their concertmaster in soloist mode – invite you to immerse yourself in a fairy-tale world with Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s symphonic poem «Scheherazade».

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Camille Saint-Saëns

Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 2 in d minor op. 119


  • Allegro moderato e maestoso - Andante sostenuto

  • Allegro non troppo - Cadenza - Molto allegro


20 Min.


Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow

«Scheherazade» Symphonic Suite for Orchestra op. 35


  • Das Meer und Sindbads Schiff (Largo e maestoso - Allegro non troppo)

  • Die Geschichte vom Prinzen Kalender (Lento - Andantino - Allegro molto - Con moto)

  • Der junge Prinz und die junge Prinzessin (Andantino quasi allegretto - Pochissimo più mosso - Come prima - Pochissimo più animato)

  • Fest in Bagdad. Das Meer. Das Schiff zerschellt an einer Klippe unter einem bronzenen Reiter (Allegro molto - Vivo - Allegro non troppo maestoso)


41 Min.