Archive: Bartók, Beethoven | Andrés Orozco-Estrada

Grafenegg Wolkenturm Wolkenturm


  • Michelle DeYoung, mezzosoprano
  • Gábor Bretz, bass
  • Thomas Quasthoff, narrator
  • Andrés Orozco-Estrada, conductor


Béla Bartók
«A kékszakállú herceg vára» | «Duke Bluebeard's Castle» Opera in one act op. 11
- interval -

Seven locked doors, one mistrustful man and one curious woman: what a constellation for a psychological crime drama in music. Béla Bartók’s «Bluebeard’s Castle» is a high-tension, one-act opera and a study in trust, curiosity and love. The Hungarian bass Gábor Bretz and the American mezzo-soprano Michelle DeYoung open the doors on mysterious jewellery, vast landscapes and, at the end, complete disillusionment. Thomas Quasthoff appears as the speaker and the celebrated conductor Andrés Orozco-Estrada returns to the platform with the Tonkünstler, drawing the concert to a close with the fateful beats of Beethoven’s 5th Symphony.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 5 in c minor op. 67


  • Allegro con brio

  • Andante con moto

  • Allegro


36 Min.