Archive: From the New World

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal


  • Tobias Feldmann, violin
  • Mei-Ann Chen, conductor


We’ll be getting our music «From the New World» as the Taiwanese American conductor Mei-Ann Chen takes to the lectern. With his Ninth Symphony, Antonín Dvořák achieved what can only be called a coup: an orchestral work of absolute perfection, fiercely loved by audiences from its premiere in 1893 to this day. The Largo with the plaintive cor anglais solo is one of the most affecting symphonic slow movements of the Romantic repertoire. Another master of luxuriating melodicism was Samuel Barber. The young German violinist Tobias Feldmann is guest soloist with the Tonkunstler for the first time in this magical violin concerto with strong connections to the musical language of late Romanticism.

The new rules on Covid-19 prevention have made some changes necessary to our concert programmes. Excerpts from George Whitefield Chadwick’s «Symphonic Sketches» were originally programmed as the opening piece of this concert. Unfortunately, however, we have had to cancel them.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Samuel Barber

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra op. 14


  • Allegro

  • Andante

  • Presto in moto perpetuo


22 Min.


Antonín Dvorák

Symphony No. 9 in e minor op. 95 «From the New World»


  • Adagio - Allegro molto

  • Largo

  • Scherzo. Molto vivace

  • Allegro con fuoco


40 Min.