Archive: Mozart & Ives

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal


  • Louis Schwizgebel, piano
  • Patrick Hahn, conductor


The American composer Charles Ives was an insurance broker, had a reputation as a solitary eccentric and loved inserting musical quotations into his works. In 1901 he completed the second of his six symphonies, and it is this that the Tonkunstler Orchestra and young Austrian conductor Patrick Hahn have chosen to start their rediscovery of his oeuvre for themselves and their audience. «Music is for moving you, not impressing you», says Louis Schwizgebel, who prefers to play Schubert, Mozart and Beethoven than Rachmaninov or Tchaikovsky. Voilà: the Swiss pianist makes his Tonkunstler debut with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s delicate A major Piano Concerto K. 414, which was written in Vienna and builds magical bridges between simplicity and virtuosity.

Because of the current regulations on Covid-19 prevention, our concert programmes have had to be modified. The original plan was to perform as our opening piece Felix Mendellsohn’s overture «Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage», but this is unfortunately no longer possible. The Piano Concerto K. 415 in C major by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart will be replaced by the one in A major K. 414.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Charles Ives

Symphony No. 2


  • Andante moderato –

  • Allegro molto (con spirito)

  • Adagio cantabile

  • Lento maestoso

  • Allegro molto vivace


40 Min.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A major KV 414


  • Allegro

  • Andante

  • Rondeau. Allegretto


26 Min.