Archive: Mozart & Rachmaninov

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal


  • Elena Bashkirova, piano
  • Robert Trevino, conductor


In his third guest appearance with the Tonkunstler, Robert Trevino has once again set himself a formidable task: after Anton Bruckner’s «Romantic» he now tackles Sergey Rachmaninov’s Third Symphony – a rarity on concert programmes! The composer had little luck with this sombre late work in three movements when it was premiered in Philadelphia in 1936. By contrast, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart enjoyed a very different reception with his captivating C major Piano Concerto K. 415. When he presented it on 23 March 1783 at his first academy concert in the old Viennese Burgtheater, Vienna’s hearts – and many doors – were suddenly open to him. And pianist Elene Bashkirova will demonstrate exactly why.

The new rules on Covid-19 prevention have made some changes necessary to our concert programmes. The works originally planned for the «MOZART & BRUCKNER» evening – the Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in G major K. 453 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 3 – will be replaced by the above pieces.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in C major KV 415


  • Allegro

  • Andante

  • Rondeau. Allegro – Adagio – Allegro


25 Min.


Sergej Rachmaninow

Symphony No. 3 in a minor op. 44


  • Lento – Allegro moderato – Allegro

  • Adagio ma non troppo – Allegro vivace

  • Allegro – Allegro vivace – Allegro (Tempo primo) – Allegretto – Allegro vivace


42 Min.