Archive: Romeo & Juliet

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal


  • Harriet Krijgh, cello
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Overture to the Opera «Così fan tutte» KV 588
- interval -

The Dutch cellist Harriet Krijgh has brought Joseph Haydn’s First Cello Concerto in C major with her. Long believed lost, this beguiling work was created on the threshold between the baroque and classicism. The idea that binds the evening together, however, is love itself poured into music! We hear it in the risqué experiment in fidelity of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s «Così fan tutte» overture and as a direct path to death in excerpts from Sergei Prokofiev’s «Romeo and Juliet» suite, compiled by Tonkunstler Music Director Yutaka Sado himself.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Joseph Haydn

Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in C major Hob. VIIb:1


  • Moderato

  • Adagio

  • Finale. Allegro molto


25 Min.


ca. 1765
Sergej Prokofjew

Suite from the Ballet «Romeo and Juliet» op. 64 (Compilation: Yutaka Sado)


  • Montecchi und Capuleti

  • Julia als Mädchen

  • Madrigal

  • Masken

  • Romeo und Julia

  • Tybalts Tod

  • Romeo und Julia vor dem Abschied

  • Romeo am Grabe Julias


45 Min.