Archive: Scheherazade

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal


  • Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello
  • Long Yu, conductor


A global programme of the finest kind! For their debut with the Tonkunstler Orchestra, the Chinese conductor Long Yu and the French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras have chosen a work that requires a dauntless soloist: the Second Cello Concerto by Camille Saint-Saëns, written in 1902 with a classical structure. The musicians – and especially their concertmaster Kirill Maximov in soloist mode – then invite you to immerse yourself in a fairy tale with Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s symphonic poem «Scheherazade». There can be few other orchestral pieces that capture the imagination as directly as this. The four movements have names like «The Sea and Sinbad’s Ship» and «Festival at Baghdad». The musical borrowings come from Persia, India and the Caucasus.

Because of the current regulations on Covid-19 prevention, our concert programmes have had to be modified. The original plan was to perform as our opening piece Qigang Chen’s overture «Instant d'un Opéra de Pékin», but this is unfortunately no longer possible.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Camille Saint-Saëns

Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 2 in d minor op. 119


  • Allegro moderato e maestoso - Andante sostenuto

  • Allegro non troppo - Cadenza - Molto allegro


20 Min.


Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow

«Scheherazade» Symphonic Suite for Orchestra op. 35


  • Das Meer und Sindbads Schiff (Largo e maestoso - Allegro non troppo)

  • Die Geschichte vom Prinzen Kalender (Lento - Andantino - Allegro molto - Con moto)

  • Der junge Prinz und die junge Prinzessin (Andantino quasi allegretto - Pochissimo più mosso - Come prima - Pochissimo più animato)

  • Fest in Bagdad. Das Meer. Das Schiff zerschellt an einer Klippe unter einem bronzenen Reiter (Allegro molto - Vivo - Allegro non troppo maestoso)


41 Min.