Archive: Tchaikovsky & Sibelius

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal


  • Alena Baeva, violin
  • Hugh Wolff, conductor


Anna Thorvaldsdottir
- interval -

«I know I have some things in common with the man – but one can’t do anything about it», Jean Sibelius once wrote about Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. This programme brings the two giants together: with the fantastic Violin Concerto by the Russian, in which Alena Baeva plays the solo part, and the First Symphony by the singular Finn, which could be described as his «Pathétique». The Tonkunstler Orchestra has long had a lot in common with the US conductor Hugh Wolff, for example a love of new discoveries. In Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s music, the landscape of Iceland seems to become sound.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major op. 35


  • Allegro moderato

  • Canzonetta. Andante -

  • Finale. Allegro vivacissimo


35 Min.


Jean Sibelius

Symphony No. 1 in E minor op. 39


  • Andante ma non troppo - Allegro energico

  • Andante ma non troppo lento

  • Scherzo. Allegro

  • Finale. Quasi una fantasia


40 Min.