Korngold & Strauss

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal

Details and Tickets

  1. St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal

    Buy tickets


  • Simone Lamsma, violin
  • Fabien Gabel, conductor


Erich Wolfgang Korngold
«Tales of Strauss» op. 21
- interval -
Richard Strauss
Suite from the Ballet «Schlagobers» op. 70

Willkommen, bienvenu, welcome: Fabien Gabel, the Music Director designate of the Tonkunstler Orchestra, wraps up an entrancing sound bouquet for this concert with fin de siècle, Jugendstil and Viennese modernist blooms on which he wants to lavish particular care. The music of Erich Wolfgang Korngold, which was banned by the Nazis, was deeply rooted in the Viennese musical tradition, as can be heard in his Fantasia over Melodies by Johann Strauss the Younger, as well as his formidable Violin Concerto, which he wrote in 1947 in the USA for Jascha Heifetz: luxuriant, capricious, grandiose. It’s a solo bravura piece for Dutch violinist Simone Lamsma – and it’s followed by an orchestral bravura piece after the interval, the suite from the ballet «Schlagobers» by Richard Strauss. Let the waltz begin!

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major op. 35


  • Moderato nobile

  • Romance. Andante

  • Finale. Allegro assai vivace


23 Min.


1937-39/ rev.1945