Archive: Strauss & Sibelius

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal


  • Katharina Kratochwil, oboe
  • Emilia Hoving, conductor


Lotta Wennäkoski
«Verdigris» (inspired by Sibelius)
Richard Strauss , Richard Strauss
- interval -

Verdigris – also known as copper(II) acetate, the deposit that makes a green patina on metals such as bronze. Composing is nothing more than adding these kinds of layers to the history of music, says Lotta Wennäkoski. That’s why she calls her homage in sound to her great compatriot Jean Sibelius «Verdigris»*. After the interval, the young Finnish conductor Emilia Hoving will demonstrate that Sibelius’s Second Symphony has lost nothing of its resplendent monumentality. But between these two performances, Katharina Kratochwil** delights in a musical late vintage: Richard Strauss’s Oboe Concerto, written in 1945 for a US soldier.

*Austrian premiere on 5 April 2024 at Congress Center Baden

**In collaboration with the Music and Arts University of the City of Vienna


My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Richard Strauss, Richard Strauss

Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra


  • Allegro moderato -

  • Andante -

  • Finale. Vivace - Allegro


25 Min.


Jean Sibelius

Symphony No. 2 in D major op. 43


  • Allegretto

  • Tempo andante ma rubato

  • Vivacissimo - Lento e soave -

  • Finale. Allegro moderato


45 Min.