Mozart & Ives

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal

  1. Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal
    with subscription

    with subscription

    Ticket sales for holders of the Pluspunkt Card start on 20 January 2021, general ticketing starts on 27 January 2021.


  • Louis Schwizgebel, piano
  • Patrick Hahn, conductor


Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
«Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage» Overture op. 27
- interval -
Charles Ives
Symphony No. 2

The American composer Charles Ives was an insurance broker, had a reputation as a solitary eccentric and loved inserting musical quotations into his works. In 1901 he completed the second of his six symphonies, and it is this that the Tonkunstler Orchestra and young Austrian conductor Patrick Hahn have chosen to rediscover his oeuvre for themselves and their audience. «Music is for moving you, not impressing you», says Louis Schwizgebel, who prefers playing Schubert, Mozart and Beethoven to Rachmaninov or Tchaikovsky. Voilà: the Swiss pianist makes his Tonkunstler debut with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s delicate C major Piano Concerto K. 415, which was written in Vienna.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in C major KV 415


  • Allegro

  • Andante

  • Rondeau. Allegro


25 Min.