Archive: Korngold & Bloch «Schelomo»

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal


  • Alisa Weilerstein, cello
  • Fabien Gabel, conductor


Richard Strauss
Love scene from the Opera «Feuersnot» op. 50
Ernest Bloch
«Schelomo» Hebraic Rhapsody for Violoncello and Orchestra
- interval -

The young conducting star Fabien Gabel brings a distinguished programme to his debut with the Tonkunstler: Erich Wolfgang Korngold, considered a Wunderkind in Vienna, gave his four-movement Opus 5 the self-effacing title «Sinfonietta» – and an opulent orchestral arrangement. Ernest Bloch, the «prophet of Jewish music», painted a portrait in sound of the Old Testament king Solomon in his highly expressive Hebrew rhapsody «Schelomo». No less vivid is the depiction of a night of passion in Richard Strauss’s one-act opera «Feuersnot».

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Sinfonietta for Large Orchestra op. 5


  • Moderato mobile

  • Romance. Andante

  • Finale. Allegro assai vivace


44 Min.