Archive: Bruckner 8

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal


  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Music such as Anton Bruckner’s Eighth Symphony demands superlatives. The composer himself dubbed it his «Mysterium»; others spoke of the «Apocalyptic» Symphony; for other still it is simply the «crown of 19th-century music». Bruckner laboured at it for three years. The outcome is a symphony to make the senses quake. Together with Music Director Yutaka Sado, the Tonkunstler Orchestra journeys from the uncertainly meandering opening to the great, crashing finale in which the motifs tower up together into a vast mountain range, ultimately shining out in optimistic C major.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 8 in c minor


  • Allegro moderato

  • Scherzo. Allegro moderato, Trio. Langsam

  • Adagio. Feierlich langsam; doch nicht schleppend

  • Finale. Feierlich, nicht schnell


86 Min.