Archive: Rachmaninov & Ravel

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal


  • Alexander Ullman, piano
  • Robert Trevino, conductor


«Ullman’s speed, precision and pellucidity [...] are breathtaking», said the Sunday Times of Alexander Ullman’s first solo CD. The young British pianist will need all these qualities for his debut with the Tonkunstler Orchestra, because Sergey Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto sets the highest of challenges for pianists. The composer himself nicknamed it a «concerto for elephants». It was the last of the Romantic piano concertos and its dramatic emotional power is here paired with «one of the most beautiful products of all French music»: that was Igor Stravinsky’s description of the ballet «Daphnis et Chloé». In the second suite, published in 1913, Maurice Ravel paints a splendid morning landscape before the «Danse générale» unfolds an orgiastic closing frenzy.

Because of the current regulations on Covid-19 prevention, our concert programmes have had to be modified. Johannes Brahms’ Second Symphony was originally planned but will be replaced by the second suite to the ballet «Daphnis et Chloé» by Maurice Ravel. Robert Trevino will conduct, rather than Yutaka Sado, as originally programmed.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Sergej Rachmaninow

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in d minor op. 30


  • Allegro ma non tanto

  • Intermezzo. Adagio –

  • Finale


40 Min.


Maurice Ravel

«Daphnis et Chloé» Suite No. 2


  • Lever du jour - Pantomime. Lent - Danse générale. Lent


18 Min.