Archive: Rachmaninov & Sibelius

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal


  • Kyohei Sorita, piano
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Jean Sibelius
Symphony No. 7 op. 105

Grand gestures are the order of the day here! For many listeners, Sergei Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto is a byword for lyrical musical sensibility. And what interpreter could be better suited than the young Japanese pianist Kyohei Sorita? He started learning the instrument because he wanted to give audiences the gift of dreams, and began his training at the Moscow Conservatory. The first part of the concert is all about epic musical storytelling and is crowned by Jean Sibelius’s Seventh Symphony, the composer’s last. It took Sibelius ten years to complete this orchestral fantasia in one movement.

The new rules on Covid-19 prevention have made some changes necessary to our concert programmes. Unfortunately, we have had to cancel the performance of the tone poem «Don Juan» by Richard Strauss, which was originally programmed for this evening. Our collaboration with the Japanese pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii will be continued at a later date.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Jean Sibelius

«Finlandia» op. 26


  • Andante sostenuto - Allegro moderato - Allegro


8 Min.


Sergej Rachmaninow

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in c minor op. 18


  • Moderato

  • Adagio sostenuto

  • Finale. Allegro scherzando


33 Min.