Archive: Liszt & Zemlinsky

St. Pölten Festspielhaus Großer Saal Festspielhaus | Großer Saal


  • Alexander Ullman, piano
  • Hans Graf, conductor


Franz Liszt
«From the Cradle to the Grave» Symphonic poem No. 13 S 107
- interval -

With Alexander Ullman at the piano and Hans Graf on the conductor’s podium, this evening takes us to a world of sweeping fairy tales, fizzing virtuosity and gripping drama. With works by composers ranging from Franz Liszt to the early modernism of Alexander Zemlinsky, you can luxuriate splendidly in romantic opulence. Liszt’s Concerto in E flat major crams magnificent pianistic brilliance into a mini-symphony, and his last symphonic poem «Von der Wiege bis zum Grabe» («From the Cradle to the Grave») lets the struggles of a lifetime flash before us. It’s complemented by the Andersen fairy tale «The Mermaid» as an orchestral fantasia in three movements, originally planned by Zemlinsky as a «symphony of death»: a gripping story without words.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Franz Liszt

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in E-flat major S 124


  • Allegro maestoso. Tempo giusto -

  • Quasi adagio - L'istesso tempo -

  • Allegretto vivace -

  • Allegro animato - Allegro marziale animato


20 Min.


Alexander Zemlinsky

«Die Seejungfrau» Fantasy for Orchestra after Hans Christian Andersen (revised Version)


  • Sehr mäßig bewegt

  • Sehr bewegt - rauschend

  • Sehr gedehnt - mit schmerzvollem Ausdruck


43 Min.