Archive: Midsummer Night's Gala

Grafenegg Wolkenturm Wolkenturm


  • Asmik Grigorian, soprano
  • Eric Cutler, tenor
  • Gautier Capuçon, cello
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


Carl Maria von Weber
Overture to the Opera «Euryanthe»
Richard Wagner
«In fernem Land» Lohengrin's aria from the Opera «Lohengrin»
Antonín Dvorák
«Mesicku na nebi hlubokem» | «O moon in the velvet heavens» Rusalka's aria from the Opera «Rusalka»
Giacomo Puccini
«Sola, perduta, abbandonata» Manon`s aria from the opera «Manon Lescaut»
Jules Massenet
«O Souverain» Rodrigue's aria from the Opera «Le Cid»
Giuseppe Verdi
Sinfonia from the opera «Un giorno di regno»
Ruggero Leoncavallo
«Vesti la giubba» Canio's aria from the Opera «Pagliacci»
Giacomo Puccini
«Un bel dì vedremo» Butterfly's aria from the Opera «Madama Butterfly»
Sergej Prokofjew
«Dance of the Knights» from the ballett «Romeo and Juliet» (Arr.: Jérôme Ducros)
Giuseppe Verdi
«Già nella notte densa» Duet Desdemona - Otello from the opera «Otello»

As the sun sets behind the castle at the Midsummer Night's Gala and the richly colourful sound of the Tonkunstler-Orchestra soars upward into the sky, magic fills the air. As the start of the open-air season at the Wolkenturm, this major musical event - which is broadcast on television throughout Europe - also symbolises a promise for the summer that stirs anticipation for many more highlights to come. World-class soloists once more celebrate the start of summer before a capacity audience: while Gautier Capuçon and René Pape have already captured the hearts of the Grafenegg public in several appearances, Asmik Grigorian, one of today's most exciting sopranos, makes her Wolkenturm debut. This musical summer fairy tale is conducted by the Tonkunstler Orchestra's Music Director, Yutaka Sado.


The soloist René Pape, who was originally announced for the concert, had to cancel his participation. However, we are pleased to announce that the internationally acclaimed American tenor Eric Cutler will make his Wolkenturm debut.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Antonín Dvorák

Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in b minor op. 104, 3rd mvt (Finale. Allegro moderato)


  • Allegro

  • Adagio, ma non troppo

  • Finale. Allegro moderato


13 Min.


Antonín Dvorák

Slavonic Dance in C major op. 46/1


  • Presto


4 Min.