Tchaikovsky & Shostakovich

Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal

  1. Wien Musikverein Großer Saal Musikverein | Großer Saal
    with subscription

    with subscription

    Can be booked as part of a subscription series. Ticket sales for holders of the Pluspunkt Card start on 18 August 2021, general ticketing starts on 1 September 2021.


  • Stephen Hough, piano
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor


When he played his First Piano Concerto to his friend Nikolai Rubinstein, his intended soloist for the premiere, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky was expecting a triumph – but what he got was a devastating rebuff. Dmitri Shostakovich’s Fifth seems to end in bombastic triumph with kettledrums and trumpets, but the celebration is a facade. The composer felt forced to erect it by Communist apparatchiks, keeping his true feelings well hidden behind. Both works have long been central to the most popular Russian repertoire. A job for maestros, with Yutaka Sado at the podium and the British virtuoso Stephen Hough on piano.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in b-flat minor op. 23


  • Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso

  • Andantino semplice

  • Finale. Allegro con fuoco


32 Min.


Dmitri Schostakowitsch

Symphony No. 5 in d minor op. 47


  • Moderato

  • Allegretto

  • Largo - Largamente

  • Allegro non troppo - Allegro - Più mosso - Poco animato


45 Min.